What are the levels of ballistic protection?

What are the levels of ballistic protection?

Understanding Ballistic Protection Ratings

  • Level IIA is tested to stop 9mm and .
  • Level II can stop 9mm and .
  • Level IIIA is tested to stop .
  • Level III protects against 7.62mm NATO FMJ lead core rifle ammunition.
  • Level IV offers some of the best protection, and is tested to stop .
  • Special Threat: When it comes to 5.56mm/.

What is UL level?

Security levels for bullet-resistant systems have been established by UL (Underwriters Laboratory), the primary testing organization for materials used in these systems. Each level has been tested and found effective at stopping certain types of projectiles, ones most typically employed during an armed robbery.

What is Level 6 bullet proof?

UL 752 Level 6 Specifications Most commonly used for protection against multiple shots from a submachine-gun, such as a 9 mm Uzi, and the like, with muzzle energy of 540-653 foot-pounds (732-885J). Nominal Thickness.

What UL 752?

Applicable Products: Materials, devices, and fixtures, as well as building components and electrically-operated equipment, used to form bullet-resisting barriers which protect against robbery, holdup, or armed attack. …

What does Ballistic Level 3a mean?

Level IIIA armor is rated to be able to stop Magnum rounds fired from handguns and everything from a . 38 Special to a 9mm. Level III armor is specifically designed to defeat rifle caliber rounds fired from a . 308 (7.62mm), a 5.56mm, and all other handguns.

What level is military body armor?

Level IV is hard body armor and designed for military settings. It can be heavy and feel restraining. Level IV armor also sometimes does not fare well against multi-hit situations.

What is Level 3 ballistic protection?

Level III body armor is the first level that protects against rifle rounds. This armor usually consists of hard plates as opposed to soft plates, so it’s not concealable. Hard armor is also heavier than soft armor, but with that weight comes greater protection.

What is level 8 ballistic glass?

Level 8: Designates the highest level of protection available in bullet resistant glass. This level is tested to withstand at least five shots from a 7.62mm rifle.

What is Level 8 protection?

Level 7: Defines bullet resistant glass designed to withstand multiple hits with 5.56 rifle FMJs with a minimum velocity of 3080f/s. Level 8: Designates the highest level of protection available in bullet resistant glass. This level is tested to withstand at least five shots from a 7.62mm rifle.

How thick should a 50 cal glass be?

50 caliber hand-canons, Jim has good news: Although not rated for this use, it’s likely that conventional Level 4 bullet resistant glass would stop a standard or Magnum . 50 cal bullet. A . 50 caliber pistol throws a 325 grain bullet at 1,500 foot-pounds to a speed of 1,400 feet per second.

What is glass clad polycarbonate?

Bullet resistant glass clad polycarbonate is a No-Spall product offering optimal protection in both interior and exterior applications. Bullet resistant, no-spall, glass clad polycarbonate is a combination of various layers of glass, polycarbonate, PVB (Poly Vinylbutyral) and/or a ThermoPlastic Urethane (TPU).

What is ballistic resistance of body armor?

Ballistic Resistance of Body Armor ,” is a minimum performance standard developed in collaboration with the Office of Law Enforcement Standards (OLES) of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

What is the European standard for ballistic resistance?

Another European ballistic resistance standard is EN 1522 for windows, doors, shutters and blinds. [8] EN 1522 uses a seven level classification system to describe ballistic resistance by calibers ranging from .22 cal. long rifle to 7.62x51mm hardcore ammunition, and one additional level for 12/70 shotgun.

What does ballistic protection level mean?

A ballistic protection level tells you how much security a certain level of armor can provide – or rather, the level of assault that it can withstand. A commonly followed (and the one we will discuss) benchmark is the EN 1063 standard set forth by the European Committee for Standardization (BR1-BR7).

Is there any research on the ballistic resistance of concrete masonry construction?

While many tests have been conducted through the years documenting the ballistic resistance of concrete masonry construction, much of this research is not available in the public domain.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top