What countries are in the West Africa region?

What countries are in the West Africa region?

The West Africa UN subregion includes the following countries:Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte D’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo .

What is the area of West Africa?

2.371 million mi²
West Africa/Area

Why is West Africa a region?

The region of West Africa includes the southern portion of the bulge of the continent, which extends westward to the Atlantic Ocean. This region is bisected by the African Transition Zone, which borders the southern edge of the Sahara Desert. The main physical features include the Sahara Desert and the Niger River.

What is West Africa UN?

The United Nations Office for West Africa and the Sahel (UNOWAS) is a Dakar-based special political mission managed by the Department of Political and Peacebuilding Affairs (DPPA), which engages in preventive diplomacy, good offices and political mediation and facilitation in countries in West Africa and the Sahel.

How many continents are there in West Africa?

It is bordered to the west and south by the Atlantic Ocean, to the north by the subregion of North Africa, and to the east by the subregion of Middle Africa. There are 16 countries and one dependency in West Africa….West African Countries.

Rank 3
Country Cabo Verde
Population 549,930
Total Area in km2 4,033

Is Kenya in West Africa?

Kenya, officially the Republic of Kenya (Swahili: Jamhuri ya Kenya), is a country in Eastern Africa. Kenya is bordered by South Sudan to the northwest, Ethiopia to the north, Somalia to the east, Uganda to the west, Tanzania to the south, and the Indian Ocean to the southeast.

Which county is the largest in West Africa?

Chad, Mali, Mauritania and the Niger are by far the largest countries of West Africa, with a total land area accounting for almost 65 percent of the subregion, although mostly desert….Chapter 14. West Africa.

Country/area Burkina Faso
Forest area 2000 7 089
Area change 1990-2000 (total forest) -15

Which country is the best in West Africa?

Nigeria. Dubbed as the “giant of Africa” Nigeria is one of the most beautiful countries in West Africa. Its subtropical climate, wide beaches, superb restaurants, excellent shopping malls, exciting craft markets and lively nightlife make Nigeria a year-round destination.

What are the four main regions of West Africa?

From north to south – from the Sahara to the humid southern coast – West Africa can be subdivided into five broad east-west belts that characterize the climate and the vegetation. These are the bioclimatic zones known as the Saharan, Sahelian, Sudanian, Guinean, and Guineo-Congolian Regions, shown in the map above.

What cities are in West Africa?

Abidjan,Ivory Coast

  • Accra,Ghana
  • Bamako,Mali
  • Banjul,The Gambia
  • Conakry,Guinea
  • Cotonou,Benin
  • Dakar,Senegal
  • Freetown,Sierra Leone
  • Lagos,Nigeria
  • Lomé,Togo
  • How many states does West Africa have?

    The United Nations defines Western Africa as the 16 countries of Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo, as well as the United Kingdom Overseas Territory of Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha.

    What is the physical geography of West Africa like?

    Physical Geography of West Africa. The 8 million square kilometers and 17 countries covered by this atlas encompass a wide range of landscapes from alluvial valleys in Senegal and Ghana, sandy plains and low plateaus across the Sahel, and rolling hills of Togo to rugged mountains with summits reaching over 1,500 m in Guinea and 1,800 m in Niger.

    Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

    Back To Top