What does FIPS 140-2 cover?

What does FIPS 140-2 cover?

FIPS 140-2 validation is mandatory for use in federal government departments that collect, store, transfer, share and disseminate sensitive but unclassified (SBU) information. This applies to all federal agencies as well as their contractors and service providers, including networking and cloud service providers.

Is WinZip FIPS-compliant?

WinZip’s FIPS support can be adjusted to the requirements of your organization. Similarly, for WinZip Enterprise versions and versions earlier than 18.5, neither WinZip nor any of its modules are FIPS 140-2 compliant but earlier versions, when using AES encryption, are FIPS 197 certified.

What are the 4 levels of FIPS?

FIPS 140-2 has 4 levels of security, with level 1 being the least secure, and level 4 being the most secure: FIPS 140-2 Level 1- Level 1 has the simplest requirements. It requires production-grade equipment, and atleast one tested encryption algorithm.

Do I need to be FIPS compliant?

All federal departments and agencies must use FIPS 180 to protect sensitive unclassified information and federal applications. Secure hash algorithms can be used with other cryptographic algorithms, like keyed-hash message authentication codes or random number generators.

Is WinZip good for encryption?

WinZip supports AES encryption in two different strengths: 128-bit AES and 256-bit AES. These numbers refer to the size of the encryption key that is used to encrypt the data. 256-bit AES is stronger than 128-bit AES, but both of them can provide significantly greater security than the standard Zip 2.0 method.

What does FIPS do on a home wireless network?

FIPS (Federal Information Processing Standard) is a United States (US) government standard established by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) with regards to data send over a wireless Bluetooth link, preventing eavesdropping and creating full secure wireless data transmission.

What is FIPS certified?

What is FIPS certification. When a software or hardware product has been tested and validated, it receives a FIPS 140-2 certificate that specifies the exact module name and version numbers. This information can then be used by third parties to confirm that software has been validated.

What is the standard for encryption?

The Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) computer security standard is a symmetric block cipher that encrypts and decrypts 128-bit blocks of data. Standard key lengths of 128, 192, and 256 bits may be used.

What are NIST encryption standards?

NIST has published a draft of their new standard for encryption use: “NIST Special Publication 800-175B, Guideline for Using Cryptographic Standards in the Federal Government: Cryptographic Mechanisms.”. In it, the Escrowed Encryption Standard from the 1990s, FIPS-185, is no longer certified.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top