What happened to the WWE Cruiserweight Title?

What happened to the WWE Cruiserweight Title?

The championship was then retired on January 4, 2022; Carmelo Hayes defeated Roderick Strong to unify the title into the NXT North American Championship, with Hayes recognized as the final Cruiserweight Champion.

Is 205 live still a thing?

WWE 205 Live, (or simply, 205 Live) is a professional wrestling program produced by WWE that premiered on November 29, 2016 on WWE Network. Despite its name, 205 Live episodes are currently taped on Tuesdays as of 2021.

Who is current cruiserweight champion?

Cruiserweight (200 lbs, 90.7 kg, 14 st 4 lbs)

WBA WBC The Ring
Arsen Goulamirian Super Champion 26-0 (18 KOs) May 31, 2019 Ilunga Makabu 28-2 (25 KOs) January 31, 2020 Mairis Briedis 27-1 (19 KOs) September 26, 2020
Ryad Merhy 30-1 (25 KOs) October 10, 2019

Who is the current NXT cruiserweight champion 2021?

Carmelo Hayes is recognized as the final champion. He defeated Roderick Strong on NXT 2.0 on January 4, 2022, to unify the title with the NXT North American Championship. Throughout the championship’s short history, there were 20 reigns between 18 champions and one vacancy.

Why is 205 LIVE called that?

The 205 Live name is a nod to the fact that wrestlers must weight 205 pounds or less in order to be eligible for the cruiserweight division.

Are there 2 cruiserweight champions?

The inaugural champion was T.J. Perkins, who was awarded the title for winning the Cruiserweight Classic on September 14, 2016….Names.

Name Years
WWE Cruiserweight Championship September 14, 2016 – October 2, 2019
NXT Cruiserweight Championship October 2, 2019 – January 4, 2022

Is Light Heavyweight same as cruiserweight?

light heavyweight, 175 pounds (79 kg) cruiserweight, 200 pounds (91 kg) heavyweight, unlimited.

Why is 205 Live called that?

What is the new WWE Cruiserweight Championship called now?

In October 2019, the title became shared between 205 Live and NXT and was renamed the NXT Cruiserweight Championship, and was then extended to NXT UK in January 2020. The title is distinct from the previous WWE Cruiserweight Championship that originated in World Championship Wrestling and was retired in 2007.

What is the Cruiserweight Classic and how does it work?

In mid-2016, WWE held the Cruiserweight Classic, a WWE Network series and tournament for wrestlers 205 lb (93 kg) and under, billed as cruiserweights. Tournament qualifying matches took place in various promotions of the independent circuit, including well known promotions such as Revolution Pro Wrestling, Progress Wrestling, and Evolve.

Should it be Jordan Devlin in the WWE Cruiserweight Championship?

shouldn’t be Jordan Devlin because he lost to Santos Escobar which in this Antichrist’s opinion, would nullify his reign from the time Santos won. The NXT Cruiserweight Championship is a professional wrestling championship created and promoted by the American promotion WWE, defended across the NXT, NXT UK, and 205 Live brand divisions.

What is the weight limit for the cruiserweight title in WWE?

It is the promotion’s only championship with a weight limit, wherein only wrestlers 205 lb (93 kg) and under—designated as cruiserweights —can compete for the title. The current champion is Roderick Strong, who is in his first reign.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top