What is Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi?

What is Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi?

The obelisk, made of Aswan granite, has an interesting history. It is connected with the emperor Domitian, and was originally thought to have come from the Serapeum, which the emperor rebuilt in A.D. 80.

What is the fountain of the four rivers?

The Fountain of the Four Rivers depicts Gods of the four great rivers in the four continents as then recognized by the Renaissance geographers: the Nile in Africa, the Ganges in Asia, the Danube in Europe and the Río de la Plata in America. Each location is further enhanced by animals and plants of that country.

How big is the Fountain of the Four Rivers?

This obelisk has a height of almost 35 meters (115 ft). Four marble gods are surrounded by flowers and animals. There, you can see a horse, crocodile, serpent, dolphin, lion, and other animals from the continents of these four rivers. It has a round shape and each figure represents its own story.

How many fountains are in Piazza Navona?

Piazza Navona is one of the largest and most beautiful piazza squares in Rome with three impressive fountains, including la Fontana dei Quattro Fiumi with its large obelisk at the centre. The baroque church of Sant’Agnese in Agone provides an impressive backdrop.

What was the Piazza Navona built for?

athletics competitions
History of Piazza Navona In 86 CE, emperor Domitian commissioned this square with its unique, elongated shape. This shape is the result of its original function as the stadium for athletics competitions (Circus Agonalis) with stands for 20,000 spectators.

What was Piazza Navona used for when it was first built?

The Piazza Navona is a famous public square in Rome. It was originally designed as an arena in the Roman Empire, and later used as a market before Pope Innocent X decided to rebuild it as a monument to his family in the mid-17th century.

When was the Fountain of the Four Rivers built?

As it stands now, the Four Rivers Fountain is the largest and arguably most famous of Bernini’s works. It was built between 1648 and 1651.

What did Bernini intend his Four Rivers fountain to represent?

Sitting on the base are the figures of four reclining river gods, meant to represent the four major continents: Europe, Asia, Africa, and the Americas. Each god is surrounded by fauna and flora meant to help identify his respective continent.

Why does the Trevi Fountain turn red?

It was red because an Italian activist, Graziano Cecchini, dyed its waters as a protest against corruption. According to a statement*, Cecchini said it was a “cry that Rome isn’t dead, that it’s alive and ready to return to be the capital of art, life, and Renaissance.” It’s the second time he’s done this in 10 years.

What God is on the Trevi Fountain?

The fountain features Neptune, god of the sea on a shell-shaped chariot pulled by two horses, each being guided by a Triton.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top