What was the purpose of the Five-Power Treaty?

What was the purpose of the Five-Power Treaty?

The Washington Naval Treaty, also known as the Five-Power Treaty, was a treaty signed during 1922 among the major Allies of World War I, which agreed to prevent an arms race by limiting naval construction.

What was the purpose of the Four-Power Treaty of 1922?

By the Four-Power Treaty, all parties agreed to maintain the status quo in the Pacific, by respecting the Pacific territories of the other countries signing the agreement, not seeking further territorial expansion, and mutual consultation with each other in the event of a dispute over territorial possessions.

Who proposed that the five major naval powers scrap their largest warships after World War 1?

The Five-Power Naval Limitation Treaty, which was signed by the United States, Great Britain, Japan, France, and Italy on February 6, 1922, grew out of the opening proposal at the conference by U.S. Secretary of State Charles Evans Hughes to scrap almost 1.9 million tons of warships belonging to the great powers.

Which President signed the Five-Power Treaty?

The 1921 Washington Conference was a military conference called by United States President Warren G. Harding that resulted in three major treaties: the Four-Power Treaty, Five-Power Treaty and the Nine-Power Treaty.

What was the purpose of the 4/5 and 9 power treaties?

Japan had taken control of the area from the Germans during World War I and maintained control of it over the years that followed. The combination of the Shangtung Treaty and the Nine-Power Treaty was meant to reassure China that its territory would not be further compromised by Japanese expansion.

What was the purpose of the Washington Conference in 1921 quizlet?

Between 1921 and 1922, the world’s largest naval powers gathered in Washington, D.C. for a conference to discuss naval disarmament and ways to relieve growing tensions in East Asia.

How did the Five-Power Treaty propose to keep military costs down?

The Five-Power Treaty, signed by the United States, the United Kingdom, Japan, France and Italy was the cornerstone of the naval disarmament program. The treaty also called on all five signatories to stop building capital ships and reduce the size of their navies by scrapping older ships.

What was the Nine-Power Treaty quizlet?

The Nine Power Treaty was signed in 1922 by a group of 9 countries. These countries signed the treaty in order to protect relations with China. The 9 countries were the US, Belgium, China, France, Portugal, Italy, the Netherlands and England.

What is five-power Naval Treaty?

FIVE-POWER NAVAL TREATY, one of seven treaties negotiated at the Washington Conference on Limitation of Armaments (1921–1922).

What were the terms of the Five-Power Treaty of 1812?

In a Five-Power Treaty on naval armaments, Britain, the United States, Japan, France, and Italy agreed severally to maintain the naval balance of capital ships in the ratios 5:5:3:1.67:1.67 and agreed not to fortify their Pacific possessions. The latter three powers protested, but the United States frankly…

What was the five power naval limitation treaty of 1922?

Five-Power Naval Limitation Treaty, also called Washington Treaty, arms limitation treaty signed by the United States, the United Kingdom, Japan, France, and Italy on February 6, 1922. The agreement fixed the respective numbers and tonnages of capital ships to be possessed by the navies of each of the contracting nations.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top