When was the last Alberta provincial election?

When was the last Alberta provincial election?

Premier after election The 2019 Alberta general election was held on April 16, 2019, to elect 87 members to the 30th Alberta Legislature. In its first general election contest, the Jason Kenney-led United Conservative Party (UCP) won 54.88% of the popular vote and 63 seats, defeating incumbent Premier Rachel Notley.

Who won the 2008 Alberta election?

With 53% of the popular vote, the Progressive Conservatives won a decisive majority over the Liberal and other parties, despite early suggestions of a closer race. The 2008 election had the lowest voter turnout in the province’s history, with only 40.59% of eligible voters casting a ballot.

How long does a Premier serve in Alberta?

Premier of Alberta
Term length At Her Majesty’s pleasure contingent on the premier’s ability to command confidence in the legislative assembly
Formation September 2, 1905
First holder Alexander Cameron Rutherford
Deputy Deputy premier of Alberta

How long were conservatives in power in Alberta?

Provincially, while the Progressive Conservative Party of Alberta had been in power for 40 years, they continued to win large majorities in the Legislative Assembly, winning 72 out of 83 seats in the March 2008 provincial election, although with declining popularity and lowering voter turn-out, reflecting increasing …

How often are provincial elections held in Canada?

In Canada, the federal government and all provinces and territories have enacted legislation setting fixed election dates so that elections occur on a more regular timeline (usually every four years) and the date of a forthcoming election is publicly known.

Which party had the most elected candidates in 2004 in Alberta?


Party Seats Third
Progressive Conservative 62 1
Liberal 16 16
New Democratic Party 4 29
Alberta Alliance 1 26

When did NDP win in Alberta?

2015 Alberta general election

Leader Rachel Notley Brian Jean
Party New Democratic Wildrose
Leader since October 18, 2014 March 28, 2015
Leader’s seat Edmonton-Strathcona Fort McMurray-Conklin
Last election 4 seats, 9.85% 17 seats, 34.28%

Has Alberta had a Liberal premier?

Three were Liberal, three belonged to the United Farmers of Alberta, three were Social Credit, seven were Progressive Conservatives, one was New Democratic, and one belongs to the United Conservatives. The current premier of Alberta is Jason Kenney of the United Conservative Party.

Who was Alberta’s last premier?

List of premiers of Alberta by time in office

Rank (by time in office) Name Dates in power
14 Jason Kenney (incumbent) 2019-04-30 to present
15 Alison Redford 2011-10-07 to 2014-03-23
16 Richard Gavin Reid 1934-07-10 to 1935-09-03
17 Jim Prentice 2014-09-15 to 2015-05-24

What is the most conservative province in Canada?

Social conservatism is strongest in Alberta, long Canada’s most conservative province, where the Social Credit movement preached evangelical values and came to power in the 1930s. It is a factor as well in parts of British Columbia outside of the Lower Mainland and Vancouver Island.

What were the political parties in Alberta in the past?

List of Alberta general elections. The province has been ruled by four “dynasties”: the Liberal Party (1905–1921); the United Farmers of Alberta (1921–1935), the Social Credit Party (1935–1971), and the Progressive Conservative (PC) Association (1971–2015). No minority government has ever been elected.

How many consecutive years has Alberta had a Conservative government?

Since the formation of the province of Alberta in 1905, parties have governed in multi-year dynasties: the Liberals, the United Farmers, and Social Credit followed by 44 consecutive years of Progressive Conservative governments. Here’s a chronology of Alberta elections:

How often are elections held in Alberta?

(April 2019) The Canadian province of Alberta holds elections to its unicameral legislative body, the Legislative Assembly of Alberta. The maximum period between general elections of the assembly is five years, but the Lieutenant Governor is able to call one at any time.

How did the Liberal Party win Edmonton in the election?

The Liberal party led the vote in Edmonton (although not taking a majority of the city vote) and its candidates received many multiple votes, together taking more votes than the number of Edmontonians who voted. It won all five of Edmonton’s seats.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top