Where can I find a list of Bronze Star recipients?

Where can I find a list of Bronze Star recipients?

Unfortunately, there is no name index for Bronze Star awards. The citations are issued at various levels of the military hierarchy. The Official Military Personnel File of a U.S. soldier will list the general order citation that includes the unit or command that issued the award.

How do you get awarded a Bronze Star?

The Bronze Star Medal is awarded to any person who, while serving in any capacity in or with the Army of the United States after 6 December 1941, distinguished himself or herself by heroic or meritorious achievement or service, not involving participation in aerial flight, in connection with military operations against …

How many Bronze Star medals have been awarded?

The latest official figures show that 3,463 Bronze Stars with V have been awarded since September 11, 2001. That’s about the same figure as the total number of U.S. troops killed since then in the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.

How common is a Bronze Star?

While Bronze Stars are fairly common, those with V devices – for combat gallantry – are much more rare. Only one in 40 Bronze Stars are awarded with a V-device, for those who performed well under fire at great personal risk.

Is the Bronze Star hard to get?

Where can I find a list of Bronze Star Medal recipients?

The most comprehensive list of recipients of the Bronze Star Medal is available in the form of software provided by the American War Library. After downloading and installing the software, which provides access to the library’s database, click on the Medal Lists/Rosters button to access and search the list.

When did the Bronze Star Medal start?

Authorized on February 4, 1944, the Bronze Star Medal is awarded to members of all branches of military service. The medal may be awarded either for meritorious service or for combat actions, in which case the “V” device is attached.

Which military branches give the Bronze Star?

The American War Library’s list is constantly being updated with information on confirmed recipients of the Bronze Star from all five armed forces: Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines and Coast Guard. The Bronze Star has been awarded since 1944 and can be given for acts of merit, heroism or meritorious service in combat that doesn’t involve flight.

Who are the Stars of Bronze Stars?


Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top