Is there a difference in wood pellets?

Is there a difference in wood pellets?

There are various grades of wood pellets that are used for fuel. The highest standard of pellets and often more expensive are premium wood pellets. The wood must also contain little or no bark, as bark will increase the ash percentage of the pellets beyond the limit acceptable to call the pellets premium grade.

What is better hard or soft wood pellets?

There are hardwood pellets that are much better than some softwood pellets and vice versa. Softwood has a higher BTU output, meaning it burns hotter than hardwood pellets due to the higher concentration of lignins.

What are the different types of wood pellets?

The following are general guidelines for which types of foods pair well with which types of wood pellets.

  • Alder Wood Pellets.
  • Apple Wood Pellets.
  • Cherry Wood Pellets.
  • Hickory Wood Pellets.
  • Maple Wood Pellets.
  • Mesquite Wood Pellets.
  • Oak Wood Pellets.
  • Pecan Wood Pellets.

Can I use softwood pellets in my pellet stove?

However, if you are heating your home with a pellet stove, pelletized softwood is absolutely acceptable (and often better than hardwood), and here’s why: FACT: Softwood pellets typically have higher heat output (burn hotter) and lower ash (burn cleaner) than hardwood pellets.

What are utility-grade wood pellets used for?

Utility-grade wood pellets used by electric utilities account for more than 75% of total wood pellet production. The remainder is mostly premium-grade pellets used for heating in the residential and commercial sectors. Utility-grade pellets generally have higher ash content than premium pellets.

What grade of wood pellets do I need for a pellet stove?

Most pellet stoves sold in the US can only use the PFI Premium grade, however, some are branded with the PFI Standard. Standard grade wood pellets are cheaper to purchase, but you will have to clean out the ash draw more frequently. ENPlus is a premium wood pellet standard agreed by the European Wood Pellet council back in 2011.

What are the different grades of ENplus wood pellets?

As you can see from the table above, there are three grades of ENplus wood pellets. A1 is the top ‘premium’ grade, then there is A2 and finally, grade B. You can see that all the wood pellet grades are produced as either a 6mm or 8mm pellet.

What is a Grade B pellet boiler?

The main market for grade B wood pellets is larger commercial pellet boilers and even for co-firing in coal power stations. There are some wood pellet manufacturers and resellers falsely claiming their product is manufactured to the ENplus standard. Therefore ENPlus have a fraud investigation team.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top