What are the tourist classification?

What are the tourist classification?

Cohen (1972), a sociologist of tourism, classifies tourists into four types, based on the degree to which they seek familiarity and novelty: the drifter, the explorer, the individual mass tourist, and the organized mass tourist. Table 1 depicts the characteristics of these four types.

What are the 5 classifications of tourism?

The main types of tourism that will be detailed in this article are: tourism, recreation and leisure, healthcare tourism, tourism or curative spa, cultural tourism, educational, social, or complex-type shopping tourism.

What is the meaning of domestic tourist?

Domestic tourism comprises the activities of residents of a given country travelling to and staying in places inside their residential country, but outside their usual environment for not more than 12 consecutive months for leisure, business or other purposes.

What is the difference between inbound and domestic tourism?

domestic tourism means visits within a country by visitors who are residents of that country. inbound tourism means visits to a country by visitors who are not residents of that country.

What is an example of domestic tourism?

Domestic tourism is travel within your own nation. For example, if a Canadian from Alberta decided to spend a few days at Niagara Falls, as you’re staying in your own country of residence, this is domestic or internal tourism.

What are the examples of domestic tourism?

At its highest level, domestic tourism involves residents of a country traveling within that same country. Road trips, weekend getaways, and staycations are all great examples. One of the biggest advantages of domestic tourism is that it includes local travel, which means easier and cheaper commuting.

What is domestic tourism India?

Domestic tourism plays an important role in overall tourism development in the country. In 2009 when the country witnessed a negative growth of 2.2% in Foreign Tourist Arrivals (FTAs), domestic tourist visits registered a growth of 18.8%. ○● Four kinds of DTVs in India. First, honeymooners.

Why is domestic tourism?

Countries rely on domestic tourism as a tool to reduce poverty, improve infrastructure, generate employment and most importantly to drive economic growth.

What are the different classifications of tourism?

Classification of Tourism Tourism can be classified into six distinct categories according to the purpose of travel. These are following as: 1) Recreational: Recreational or leisure tourism takes a person away from the humdrum of everyday life.

What do you mean by domestic tourism?

The tourism activity of the people within their own country is known as domestic tourism. Traveling within the same country is easier because it does not require formal travel documents and tedious formalities like compulsory health checks and foreign exchange.

What are the most important forms of tourism?

Some most important forms of tourism are following as: 1 Adventure Tourism 2 Atomic Tourism 3 Bicycle Tours 4 Beach Tourism 5 Cultural Tourism 6 Ecotourism 7 Geotourism 8 Industrial Tourism 9 Medical Tourism 10 Religious Tourism

What is the scope of domestic tourism in India?

Domestic tourism has greater scope in countries of large dimensions such as India as compared to smaller countries. From a geographical viewpoint, domestic tourism may range from local excursion, regional trips to national level travels.


Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top