Which caste is Karnataka?

Which caste is Karnataka?

According to the ‘caste census’, Dalits form 19.5% of the state’s population, tribals 5%, Muslims 16%, Kurubas 7%, rest of the OBCs 16%, Lingayats 14%, Vokkaligas 11%, Brahmins 3%, Christians 3%, Buddhists and Jains together 2%, and the others account for 4%. Karnataka’s total population is around 6 crore.

Is Daivadnya Brahmin OBC?

Daivadnyas in the state of Karnataka being a micro-minority are classified by National Commission for Backward Classes as an Other Backward Class.

How many sub castes are there in Karnataka?

11 subcategories
This category has the following 11 subcategories, out of 11 total.

Is Gowda backward caste?

Most subsects of the Vokkaliga community are designated as Forward castes by the Central Government of India. While some subsects in rural areas, are designated as Other Backward Class by the Karnataka Government. Vokkaligas commonly carry titles such as Gowda, Hegde and Gounder.

Which is the best caste in Karnataka?

Among major SCs, Banjara have the highest (88.9 per cent) rural population, followed by Holaya (82.0 per cent), Bhambi (80.7 per cent), Madiga (80.3 per cent), Adi Karnataka (76.2 per cent) and Bhovi (74.9 per cent).

Are gowdas lingayats?

Gowda (also known as Gauda or Gouda) is a surname native to the Karnataka state of India. It is mainly found among the Vokkaligas in south Karnataka and the Lingayats in north Karnataka.

What is the caste of a Kaniyar?

Kaniyar is a caste from the Indian state of Kerala. There are regional variations in the name used to define them.

What is the procedure for caste and Income Certificate in Karnataka?

As per the Karnataka Guarantee Of Services to Citizens – (KGSC), the caste and income certificate delivery has been brought under the Sakala Scheme. This means, within 21 days, the concerned agency must issue the certificate or reject it if it found documents are not proper.

What is the caste of a Lingayat in Bangalore?

Most native Lingayats of Bangalore belong to same sub castes as Vokkaliga – subcastes. Ex : V Somanna, a Lingayat minister hailing from Bangalore who belongs to Gangadikara Vokkligas. Havanur Commission on survey of village economic and social leadership, Lingayats controlled ~40% of the villages.

How to get caste certificate in nadakacheri?

The applicant can collect his caste certificates in Nadakacheri. The applicant can check the status of the application on the Nadakacheri website. All this process should be completed within 21 days. Salary slip of family members or a tax payment receipt is mandatory for completing the form.

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top