Who is the Lady Byng trophy named for?

Who is the Lady Byng trophy named for?

Marie Evelyn Moreton
The trophy is named in honour of Marie Evelyn Moreton (Lady Byng), wife of the Viscount Byng of Vimy, who commanded Canadian forces at the Battle of Vimy Ridge and who was Governor General of Canada from 1921 to 1926. Lady Byng, an avid hockey fan, decided to donate the trophy to the NHL in 1924–25.

Who won the most Lady Byng Trophy?

Frank Boucher
First awarded in 1925, Frank Boucher (Canada) has won the most Lady Byng trophies with seven in 1928-31 and 1933-35 playing for the New York Rangers. The Lady Byng trophy is awarded each season to the National Hockey League player who displays the most sportsmanlike behaviour combined with the highest standard of play.

How many times did Wayne Gretzky win the Lady Byng Trophy?

Wayne Gretzky has won the trophy five times, second only to Boucher. Red Kelly and Pavel Datsyuk won four times each, followed by three-time winners Bobby Bauer, Alex Delvecchio, Mike Bossy, Ron Francis and Martin St. Louis.

How many NHL awards are there?

Presently, the NHL has 18 annual individual trophies and awards, the most recently created being the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award which was inaugurated in 2010.

Who has most trophies Selke?

Frank J. Selke Trophy
First award 1977–78 NHL season
Most wins Patrice Bergeron (4) Bob Gainey (4)
Most recent Aleksander Barkov Florida Panthers

Who votes for the Lady Byng?

the Professional Hockey Writers Association
The 2021 Lady Byng winner was chosen by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association, who cast their ballots at the conclusion of the regular season. Minnesota Wild defenceman Jared Spurgeon and Toronto Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews finished second and third, respectively, in the voting.

Who won the most trophies in the NHL?

Hart Memorial Trophy
Awarded for Most Valuable Player in regular season of the National Hockey League
First award 1924
Most wins Wayne Gretzky (9)

How old is the Stanley Cup?

The Stanley Cup was first awarded in the 1892–93 season and is the oldest trophy that can be won by professional athletes in North America. The cup’s donor was a governor-general of Canada, Frederick Arthur, Lord Stanley of Preston, for whom it is named.

How many Selke Trophies does Bergeron have?

four Selke’s
As many already know, Bergeron’s four Selke’s is tied for the record of most won in a career with Bob Gainey who played for the Montreal Canadiens.

Who votes on the Selke Trophy?

Selke Trophy, which is awarded to “the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game” as voted by the Professional Hockey Writers Association. This year it was the Florida Panthers’ captain Aleksander Barkov, who has won this award for the first time in his career.

How many Hart Trophies does Gretzky have?

nine times
Notable Winners Wayne Gretzky was awarded the Hart Trophy an unprecedented nine times, eight in succession from the start of his career (1980–87).

What is the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy?

The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is an annual award given “to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.”

Who won the Lady Byng Trophy as a goalie?

NHL Lady Byng Memorial Trophy Winners. No goaltender has won the award; Bill Quackenbush (1949, Red Wings), Kelly (1941, 1953, 1954 Red Wings; also won as forward in 1961 with the Maple Leafs) and Brian Campbell (2012, Florida Panthers) are the only defensemen to do so.

Who won Lady Byng and Hart Trophy in the same season?

Five players have won both the Lady Byng Trophy and the Hart Memorial Trophy as league MVP in the same season: Buddy O’Connor (1947–48), Bobby Hull (1964–65), Stan Mikita (1966–67 and 1967–68), Wayne Gretzky (1979–80) and Joe Sakic (2000–01).

Did Adam Oates ever win the Lady Byng Trophy?

Adam Oates was a six-time finalist for the Lady Byng Trophy but never won. Five players have won both the Lady Byng Trophy and the Hart Memorial Trophy as league MVP in the same season: Buddy O’Connor ( 1947–48 ), Bobby Hull ( 1964–65 ), Stan Mikita ( 1966–67 and 1967–68 ), Wayne Gretzky ( 1979–80) and Joe Sakic ( 2000–01 ).

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top