What are the county names in Ireland?

What are the county names in Ireland?

The 26 counties of the Republic of Ireland are Carlow, Cavan, Clare, Cork, Donegal, Dublin, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Leitrim, Limerick, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo, Tipperary, Waterford, Westmeath, Wexford and Wicklow.

What are the 5 counties of Ireland?

Ireland’s counties and provinces

  • Connacht.
  • Ulster.
  • Munster.
  • Leinster.

What is the nickname for Tipperary?

The Premier County

County (GAA link) Nickname
Sligo (GAA) The Magpies
Tipperary (GAA) The Premier County
Tipperary (GAA) The Stone Throwers
Tipperary (GAA) Tipp or “The Home of Hurling”

What are the 6 counties in Ireland?

Northern Ireland is divided into six counties, namely: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry and Tyrone.

What are the Munster counties?

Munster, Old Irish Muma, the southwestern province of Ireland, comprising the counties of Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary, and Waterford.

What do you call someone from Limerick?

Limerick — The Treaty County The name refers to the Treaty of Limerick, 1691 which ended the siege of Limerick. Residents are called the Shannonsiders.

What county is Meath?

County Meath (/miːð/; Irish: Contae na Mí or simply an Mhí) is a county in Ireland. It is in the province of Leinster and is part of the Mid-East Region. It is named after the historic Kingdom of Meath (from Midhe meaning “middle” or “centre”).

What are the most common Irish names?

Irish Male Dog Names Ranked by Popularity Riley (22nd most popular) Cody (35th) Finn (50th) Brody (52nd) Logan (138th) Miles (160th) Griffin (207th) Finley (215th) Kane (222nd) Finnegan (249th) Seamus (331st) Kevin (341st) Austin (412th) Owen (484th) Liam (485th) Flynn (501)

Which Irish county was once known as the Kings County?

County Offaly ( / ˈɒfəliː /; Irish: Contae Uíbh Fhailí) is a county in Ireland. It is part of the Midlands Region and is also located in the province of Leinster. It is named after the ancient Kingdom of Uí Failghe. It was formerly known as King’s County. Offaly County Council is the local authority for the county.

What are the 32 counties of Ireland?


  • Armagh
  • Carlow
  • Cavan
  • Clare
  • Cork
  • Derry
  • Donegal
  • Down
  • Dublin
  • What are some Irish clan names?

    Irish Clan Names – Irish Names and Surnames. These ancient clan-names in many instances differ little, if at all, in form from modern family names. Muintear and Clann which occur so frequently in clan-names are also used to form the collective plural of family names, as Muintear Loingsigh, the O’Lynches, Clann tShíthigh, the MacSheehys, or Sheehys.

    Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

    Back To Top